Skip to product information
1 of 1

Indigenous Ingenuity

Indigenous Ingenuity

A Celebration of Traditional North American Knowledge

By Deidre Havrelock, Edward Kay

Format
New arrival
Regular price $20.99
Regular price $20.99 Sale price $20.99
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

This beautifully designed, interactive nonfiction work celebrates North American Indigenous thinkers and inventions—perfect for fans of Braiding Sweetgrass by Robin Wall Kimmerer.  ​

"An astonishing, exuberant treasure trove of history, science and hands-on activities that repeatedly begs the question: "Why didn't I know this?" Essential for kids and adults. We need this book." —Candace Fleming, award-winning author of The Rise and Fall of Charles Lindbergh and The Family Romanov

Corn. Chocolate. Fishing hooks. Boats that float. Insulated double-walled construction. Recorded history and folklore. Life-saving disinfectant. Forest fire management. Our lives would be unrecognizable without these, and countless other, scientific discoveries and technological inventions from Indigenous North Americans.

Spanning topics from transportation to civil engineering, hunting technologies, astronomy, brain surgery, architecture, and agriculture, Indigenous Ingenuity is a wide-ranging STEM offering that answers the call for Indigenous nonfiction by reappropriating hidden history. The book includes fun, simple activities and experiments that kids can do to better understand and enjoy the principles used by Indigenous inventors. Readers of all ages are invited to celebrate traditional North American Indigenous innovation, and to embrace the mindset of reciprocity, environmental responsibility, and the interconnectedness of all life. 

A Junior Library Guild Selection

DETAILS

On Sale: May 9, 2023
Page Count: 272 pages
Publisher: Christy Ottaviano Books
ISBN-13: 9780316413336
Ages: 8-12
View full details