Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Fabled Earth ARC

The Fabled Earth ARC

by Kimberly Brock

𝗢𝗻 𝗦𝗮𝗹𝗲: 𝗢𝗰𝘁𝗼𝗯𝗲𝗿 𝟭, 𝟮𝟬𝟮𝟰

Format
Regular price $0.00
Regular price Sale price $0.00
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Inspired by the little-known history of Cumberland Island, The Fabled Earth is a sweeping story of family lore and the power of finding your own voice as Southern mythology and personal reckoning collide with a changing world.

1932. Cumberland Island off the coast of Southern Georgia is a strange place to encounter the opulence of the Gilded Age, but the last vestiges of the famed philanthropic Carnegie family still take up brief seasonal residence in their grand mansions there. This year's party at Plum Orchard is a lively group: young men from some of America's finest families come to experience the area's hunting beside a local guide; a beautiful debutante expecting to be engaged by the week's end, and a promising female artist who believes she has meaningful ties to her wealthy hosts. But when temptations arise and passions flare, an evening of revelry and storytelling goes horribly awry. Lives are both lost and ruined.

1959. Reclusive painter Cleo Woodbine has lived alone for decades on Kingdom Come, a tiny strip of land once occupied by the servants for the great houses on nearby Cumberland. When she is visited by the man who saved her life nearly thirty years earlier, a tempest is unleashed as the stories of the past gather and begin to regain their strength. Frances Flood is a folklorist come to Cumberland Island seeking the source of a legend - and also information about her mother, who was among the guests at a long-ago hunting party. Audrey Howell, briefly a newlywed and now newly widowed, is running a local inn. When she develops an eerie double exposure photograph, some believe she's raised a ghost--someone who hasn't been seen since that fateful night in 1932.

As a once-in-a-century storm threatens the natural landscape and shifting tides reveal what Cumberland Island has hidden all along, two timelines and the perspectives of three women intersect to illuminate the life-changing power of finding truth in a folktale.

The Fabled Earth:

  • Is great for book clubs with its included discussion questions
  • Makes a great gift for readers of Alice Hoffman, Kate Morton, Sarah Addison Allen, and Emelia Hart
  • New York Times bestselling author William Kent Krueger called Brock’s The Lost Book of Eleanor Dare, “Complex, compelling, and beautifully crafted.”

DETAILS

ISBN-13: 9781400234226
Publisher: Harper Muse
Publication Date: October 1, 2024
Pages: 416
View full details