Skip to product information
1 of 1

Nightbloom

Nightbloom

by Peace Adzo Medie

Format
Regular price $18.99
Regular price Sale price $18.99
Sale Sold out
Shipping calculated at checkout.

From the author of Reese's Book Club Pick His Only Wife, this moving novel about the unbreakable power of female friendship follows two estranged women in Ghana who reconnect in a crisis.

When Selasi and Akorfa were young girls in Ghana, they were more than just cousins; they were inseparable. Selasi was exuberant and funny, Akorfa quiet and studious. They would do anything for each other, imploring their parents to let them be together, sharing their secrets and desires and private jokes.

Then Selasi begins to change, becoming hostile and quiet; her grades suffer; she builds a space around herself, shutting Akorfa out. Meanwhile, Akorfa is ac-cepted to an American university with the goal of becoming a doctor.  Although hopeful that America will afford her opportunities not available to her in Ghana, she discovers the insidious ways that racism places obstacles in her path once in Pittsburgh. It takes a crisis to bring the friends back together, with Selasi’s secret revealed and Akorfa forced to reckon with her role in their estrangement.

A riveting depiction of class and family in Ghana, a compelling exploration of memory, and an eye-opening story of life as an African-born woman in the US, Nightbloom is above all a gripping and beautifully written novel attesting to the necessity of female bonds in the face of societies that would silence them. This assured follow-up to Peace Adzo Medie’s much-heralded debut is perfect for readers of The Girl with the Louding VoiceAmericanah, and Of Women and Salt.

DETAILS

Paperback
ISBN-13: 9781643756301
Publisher: Algonquin Books
Publication Date: June 11, 2024
Pages: 368

Hardcover
ISBN-13: 9781643752846
Publisher: Algonquin Books
Publication Date: June 13, 2023
Pages: 352
View full details